Notice: While JavaScript is not essential for this website, your interaction with the content will be limited. Please turn JavaScript on for the full experience.

PSF Meeting Minutes for April 8, 2003

Subscribe via RSS

The Python Software Foundation
Minutes of Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors

April 8, 2003

A regular meeting of the Python Software Foundation (the "PSF") Board of Directors was held over Internet Relay Chat at 17:05 GMT. Guido van Rossum, president of the Foundation and chairman of the Board, presided at the meeting.

1. Attendance

The following members of the Board of Directors were present at the meeting: Thomas Wouters, David Ascher, Guido van Rossum, Marc-Andre Lemburg, Martin von Löwis, Tim Peters, Jeremy Hylton. A quorum was present. Neal Norwitz also participated in the meeting.

2. Meeting minutes of past IRC meetings

Guido moved to approve the minutes of March 11th. Motion passes with 6 ayes and 1 abstention.

3. Treasurer appointment

Neal has volunteered to take over the treasurer position from Jeremy. He will get all documents from Jeremy, and a procedure to give him access to the PSF maildrop will be established. Jeremy moves to appoint Neal as the treasurer. Motion passes with 7 ayes. The board thanks Neal for volunteering.

4. Grant proposals

Jeremy reports that several PSF members (Michael McLay, Keven Altis, Aron Traurin, Dan Moore) have been suggested that the PSF applies for grants for Python development. Possible sponsors are the Mellon Foundation, Intel, and DARPA. Board members ask how the money would be spent if it were granted. One option is to sponsor individuals with it, like Guido for working on Python 3. Zope Corporation might also be the prime contractor of the grant, or Metaslash (Neal's company). There is concern that funding PSF members or PSF officers with granted money may be a problem.

The board concludes that a committee should be formed to review grant proposals that volunteers may draft; no decision to form such a committee is taken at this time. Tim will be responsible for forming the committee.

5. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 17:45.