Notice: While Javascript is not essential for this website, your interaction with the content will be limited. Please turn Javascript on for the full experience.

PEP 569 -- Python 3.8 Release Schedule

PEP:569
Title:Python 3.8 Release Schedule
Author:Łukasz Langa <lukasz at python.org>
Status:Draft
Type:Informational
Created:27-Jan-2018
Python-Version:3.8

Abstract

This document describes the development and release schedule for Python 3.8. The schedule primarily concerns itself with PEP-sized items.

Release Manager and Crew

  • 3.8 Release Manager: Łukasz Langa
  • Windows installers: Steve Dower
  • Mac installers: Ned Deily
  • Documentation: Julien Palard

3.8 Lifespan

3.8 will receive bugfix updates approximately every 1-3 months for approximately 18 months. After the release of 3.9.0 final, a final 3.8 bugfix update will be released. After that, it is expected that security updates (source only) will be released until 5 years after the release of 3.8 final, so until approximately October 2024.

Release Schedule

3.8.0 schedule

Note: the dates below are not set in stone yet. The PEP is in draft status. Suggestions and comments welcome.

Expected:

  • 3.8 development begins: Monday, 2018-01-29
  • 3.8.0 alpha 1: Sunday, 2019-01-27
  • 3.8.0 alpha 2: Sunday, 2019-02-24
  • 3.8.0 alpha 3: Sunday, 2019-03-24
  • 3.8.0 alpha 4: Sunday, 2019-04-28
  • 3.8.0 beta 1: Sunday, 2019-05-26 (No new features beyond this point.)
  • 3.8.0 beta 2: Sunday, 2019-06-23
  • 3.8.0 beta 3: Sunday, 2019-07-28
  • 3.8.0 beta 4: Sunday, 2019-08-25
  • 3.8.0 candidate 1: Sunday, 2019-09-29
  • 3.8.0 candidate 2: Sunday, 2019-10-06 (if necessary)
  • 3.8.0 final: Sunday, 2019-10-20

Features for 3.8

Implemented changes for 3.8 (as of 3.7.0 alpha 4):

  • nothing yet, development not started
Source: https://github.com/python/peps/blob/master/pep-0569.rst