From antonio.a.carrillo at gmail.com Wed Jan 5 13:55:08 2005 From: antonio.a.carrillo at gmail.com (Antonio Carrillo) Date: Wed Jan 5 13:55:10 2005 Subject: [Python-mode] Problems with pdb and ntemacs 21.3.1 Message-ID: Hello. I''m beginning with python and I'm using python-mode with emacs under windows 2000. I've found a problem with pdb and a possible workaround: When I start pdb with M-x pdb RET (I'm using the command 'python -u -m pdb prog.py'), I can't see the python output in the gud buffer. The pdb is working, just because if I write, for example, the command 'q', pdb quits and ends the gud session. After digging under python-mode.el and pdb.py, I've found that if pdb prints a line that begins with the symbol '>' (default to show the current source position in pdb), the gud buffer won't show pdb output anymore. I've worked around this problem by changing pdb.py to show the current source position with a '=>' symbol (class Pdb, method 'print_stack_entry'), and changing the pdbtrack regexp accordingly. Anyone has this problem too? Does exists some other solution for the problem? Happy new year, -- -- Antonio Carrillo antonio.a.carrillo@gmail.com From noreply at sourceforge.net Thu Jan 6 21:20:37 2005 From: noreply at sourceforge.net (SourceForge.net) Date: Thu Jan 6 21:20:42 2005 Subject: [Python-mode] [ python-mode-Bugs-1021885 ] shell gets set to 'cpython' Message-ID: Bugs item #1021885, was opened at 2004-09-03 15:24 Message generated for change (Comment added) made by blais You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=581349&aid=1021885&group_id=86916 Category: None Group: None Status: Open Resolution: None Priority: 5 Submitted By: Dan Christensen (jdc) Assigned to: Nobody/Anonymous (nobody) Summary: shell gets set to 'cpython' Initial Comment: If I edit a source file which starts with #!/usr/bin/python and I hit C-c C-c to run it, then py-execute-region sets the variable shell using (setq shell (or (py-choose-shell-by-shebang) (py-choose-shell-by-import) py-which-shell)))) The function py-choose-shell-by-shebang returns cpython. Then a bit further down we have (let ((cmd (concat shell ... which gives an error: Debugger entered--Lisp error: (wrong-type-argument sequencep cpython) concat(cpython "") The only related line in my .emacs.el is (require 'python-mode) Dan ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Martin Blais (blais) Date: 2005-01-06 20:20 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=10996 I also report the same problem. Same place, same reason. shell gets set to a symbol, and it's attempted to be concat'ed. This break py-execute-buffer, and IMO it's a major showstopper. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=581349&aid=1021885&group_id=86916 From noreply at sourceforge.net Sun Jan 9 19:04:33 2005 From: noreply at sourceforge.net (SourceForge.net) Date: Sun Jan 9 19:04:39 2005 Subject: [Python-mode] [ python-mode-Patches-1021881 ] Include the name of a module's package in its buffer name. Message-ID: Patches item #1021881, was opened at 2004-09-03 10:18 Message generated for change (Comment added) made by montanaro You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=581351&aid=1021881&group_id=86916 Category: None Group: None >Status: Open Resolution: Accepted Priority: 5 Submitted By: Edward Loper (edloper) Assigned to: Nobody/Anonymous (nobody) Summary: Include the name of a module's package in its buffer name. Initial Comment: Add an option to include a module's package name in its buffer name. E.g. if module `module.py' is contained in a package whose dotted name is `a.b.c', then its buffer will be named "module.py (a.b.c)" instead of just "module.py". When using complex package hierarchies, this can be useful for keeping track of where a module is in the hierarchy. It's especially useful for keeping track of __init__.py files. In the patch, the option is turned on by default; but that could be changed. See the docs for the custom variable py-name-buffers-with-packages. For more info about file-name-handler-alist (which is used to implement the change), see ("Making Certain File Names 'Magic'"). It should work under both emacs and xemacs. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- >Comment By: Skip Montanaro (montanaro) Date: 2005-01-09 12:04 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=44345 I backed this change out. With it in place it seems that buffer names are annotated with "<2>" even if they are the only buffer associated with a given file name. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Skip Montanaro (montanaro) Date: 2004-10-23 12:37 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=44345 Looks good. Checked in as v 4.65. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Edward Loper (edloper) Date: 2004-09-12 16:26 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=195958 Fixed a bug in the patch where the rename would fail if two buffers with the same name were opened. (Also, used context diff instead of unified diff.) ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Edward Loper (edloper) Date: 2004-09-06 21:20 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=195958 Attatching file, take 2. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=581351&aid=1021881&group_id=86916 From noreply at sourceforge.net Sun Jan 9 19:06:17 2005 From: noreply at sourceforge.net (SourceForge.net) Date: Sun Jan 9 19:06:21 2005 Subject: [Python-mode] [ python-mode-Bugs-1088514 ] Buffer name sometimes wrong Message-ID: Bugs item #1088514, was opened at 2004-12-20 10:49 Message generated for change (Comment added) made by montanaro You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=581349&aid=1088514&group_id=86916 Category: None Group: None >Status: Closed >Resolution: Fixed Priority: 5 Submitted By: Thomas Heller (theller) Assigned to: Nobody/Anonymous (nobody) Summary: Buffer name sometimes wrong Initial Comment: Most of the time, but not always, the name of a buffer containing Python files has an "<2>" appended. How to reproduce: Start XEmacs. Enter "C-x C-f c:\python23\lib\urllib.py" - the buffer is named 'urllib.py'. Now, enter "C-x C-f httplib.py" - the new buffer is named "httplib.py<2>" XEmacs 21.4 (patch 13) "Rational FORTRAN" [Lucid] (i586-py-win32) of Sun May 25 2003 on TSUNAMI Using `python-mode' version $Revision: 4.69 $ WinXP Pro, SP2. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- >Comment By: Skip Montanaro (montanaro) Date: 2005-01-09 12:06 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=44345 Backing out patch #1021881 in v 4.70 seems to fix this problem. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=581349&aid=1088514&group_id=86916