[Patches] [ python-Patches-1034053 ] unittest.py patch: add skipped test functionality

SourceForge.net noreply at sourceforge.net
Sun Sep 26 12:13:34 CEST 2004


Patches item #1034053, was opened at 2004-09-24 09:08
Message generated for change (Comment added) made by rhettinger
You can respond by visiting: 
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=305470&aid=1034053&group_id=5470

Category: Library (Lib)
Group: Python 2.4
Status: Open
Resolution: None
Priority: 5
Submitted By: Remy Blank (remyblank)
Assigned to: Steve Purcell (purcell)
Summary: unittest.py patch: add skipped test functionality

Initial Comment:
I added the possibility for tests using the unittest.py 
framework to be skipped. Basically, I added two methods 
to TestCase:

  TestCase.skip(msg): skips test unconditionally
  TestCase.skipIf(expr, msg): skips test if expr is true

These can be called either in setUp() or in the test 
methods. I also added reporting of skipped tests to 
TestResult, _TextTestResult and TextTestRunner. If no 
tests are skipped, everything should be the same as 
before.

I am using Python 2.3.3, so the changes are against the 
file in that version. I can generate a patch for a more 
recent version if desired. I attached the patch against 
the original (unittest_skip.patch). I can provide a 
complete test suite for the new functionality and a usage 
example program.


Quick usage example:

class ReadShadowTest(unittest.TestCase):
        """Read access to /etc/shadow"""
        def testReadingAsRoot(self):
                """Reading /etc/shadow as root"""
                self.skipIf(os.geteuid() != 0, "Must be root")
                open("/etc/shadow").close()


The example program produces the following output:

$ ./SkippedTestDemo.py -v
Access to autoexec.bat ... SKIPPED (Only available on 
Windows)
Access to config.sys ... SKIPPED (Only available on 
Windows)
Reading /etc/shadow as root ... SKIPPED (Must be root)
Reading /etc/shadow as non-root ... ok

-------------------------------------------------------
---------------
Ran 4 tests in 0.004s

OK (skipped=3)

----------------------------------------------------------------------

>Comment By: Raymond Hettinger (rhettinger)
Date: 2004-09-26 05:13

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=80475

The skipIf() method is sufficient.  From there, it is
trivial to roll your own resource check.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Wummel (calvin)
Date: 2004-09-26 04:10

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=9205

This is a nice patch. I am wondering if it can be extended
to support the resource idea used in the python regression
tests. That is the user has a --resource option to give a
list of available resources and a test only runs if its
requested resources are available. Otherwise it will be skipped.
Example:
TestDemo.py --resource=network --resource=audio
... would supply the network and audio resource.
Or does it make more sense to put this in a separate patch?

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Remy Blank (remyblank)
Date: 2004-09-25 05:54

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=568100

Added sample code.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Remy Blank (remyblank)
Date: 2004-09-25 05:53

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=568100

The test suite for the added functionality.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Remy Blank (remyblank)
Date: 2004-09-25 05:51

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=568100

I don't think so. Basically, the patch changes the following:
 - Adds a class SkippedException to the unittest module
 - Adds a skipped attribute to TestResult, containing the list of skipped 
tests, and an addSkipped() method to add to the list.
 - Catches the SkippedException in TestCase.__call__()
 - Adds skip() and skipIf() to TestCase
 - Modifies _TextTestResult and TextTestRunner to report skipped tests 
*only if there are any*

I see two potential problems:
 - Test runners based on (or using the output of) TextTestRunner. I've 
taken care that the output is unchanged if there are no skipped tests.
 - Code that uses repr() of a TestResult, as I extended it to always report 
skipped tests. I think this would be bad practice anyway.

However, to use the test-skipping functionality, custom test runners will 
obviously need to be extended to report skipped tests.

OTOH, I don't have a big test codebase to check. I read that e.g. Zope is 
using unittest. Maybe I can try to run their test suite with the patched 
unittest.py. I'll check.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Raymond Hettinger (rhettinger)
Date: 2004-09-25 03:18

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=80475

Will this muck up some the existing test runners that people
have written?

----------------------------------------------------------------------

You can respond by visiting: 
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=305470&aid=1034053&group_id=5470


More information about the Patches mailing list