From dpaul at fsu.edu Sun Aug 1 20:27:01 2010 From: dpaul at fsu.edu (Debbie Paul) Date: Sun, 01 Aug 2010 14:27:01 -0400 Subject: [Idle-dev] newbie - IDLE won't start, socket error, Vista, 32bit Message-ID: <4C55BC75.8070105@fsu.edu> Hi All, Newbie, trying to learn Python. os is Windows Vista, 32-bit machine. Used Installer pkg from helloworldbook.com includes Python 2.5.1, Tk 8.4 and IDLE v 1.2.1 (and other stuff). Trying to launch IDLE from Start Menu icon. Socket error: permission denied. IDLE's subprocess didn't make connection. Either IDLE can't start a subprocess or personal firewall software is blocking the connection. Trying to start IDLE from cmd line: c:\Python25\python.exe c:\Python25\Lib\idlelib\idle.py (or c:\Python25\pythonw.exe c:\Python25\Lib\idlelib\idle.pyw) gets: IDLE Subprocess: socket error: Permission denied, retrying.... IDLE Subprocess: socket error: Permission denied, retrying.... IDLE Subprocess: socket error: Permission denied, retrying.... IDLE Subprocess: Connection to IDLE GUI failed, exiting. Traceback (most recent call last): ** IDLE Internal Exception: Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:\Python25\lib\idlelib\run.py", line 82, in main exit() File "C:\Python25\lib\idlelib\run.py", line 208, in exit del sys.exitfunc AttributError: exitfunc Traceback (most recent call last): File "", line 1, in File "C:\Python25\lib\idlelib\run.py", line 107, in main exit() File "C:\Python25\lib\idlelib\run.py", line 208, in exit del sys.exitfunc AttributeError: exitfunc Tried to run with firewall turned off. Same problem. Tried to run as Admin of computer, same problem. At cmd line, ping localhost gets 127.0.0.1 ok. Is problem Vista permissions?, RPC (on Automatic) or RPC locator (set to Manual), firewall?, typo in code? I see other people manage to use this downloaded package. Kindly suggestions for frustrated newbie please. Thanks, Deb. From mount.sarah at gmail.com Sun Aug 1 21:04:53 2010 From: mount.sarah at gmail.com (Sarah Mount) Date: Sun, 1 Aug 2010 20:04:53 +0100 Subject: [Idle-dev] newbie - IDLE won't start, socket error, Vista, 32bit In-Reply-To: <4C55BC75.8070105@fsu.edu> References: <4C55BC75.8070105@fsu.edu> Message-ID: On 1 August 2010 19:27, Debbie Paul wrote: > Hi All, ?Newbie, trying to learn Python. os is Windows Vista, 32-bit > machine. Used Installer pkg from helloworldbook.com > includes Python 2.5.1, Tk 8.4 and IDLE v 1.2.1 (and other stuff). > > Trying to launch IDLE from Start Menu icon. Socket error: permission denied. > IDLE's subprocess didn't make connection. Either IDLE can't start a > subprocess or personal firewall software is blocking the connection. > IDLE uses a socket to start Python programs. If you have a firewall running then this socket may be blocked by the firewall. That's likely the problem. You could try changing the settings on your firewall, but you'd have to ask someone who has used Vista how best to go about that. Sarah -- Sarah Mount, Senior Lecturer, University of Wolverhampton website:? http://www.snim2.org/ twitter: @snim2 From taleinat at gmail.com Mon Aug 2 09:31:02 2010 From: taleinat at gmail.com (Tal Einat) Date: Mon, 2 Aug 2010 10:31:02 +0300 Subject: [Idle-dev] newbie - IDLE won't start, socket error, Vista, 32bit In-Reply-To: <4C55BC75.8070105@fsu.edu> References: <4C55BC75.8070105@fsu.edu> Message-ID: On Sun, Aug 1, 2010 at 9:27 PM, Debbie Paul wrote: > Hi All, Newbie, trying to learn Python. os is Windows Vista, 32-bit > machine. Used Installer pkg from helloworldbook.com > includes Python 2.5.1, Tk 8.4 and IDLE v 1.2.1 (and other stuff). > > Trying to launch IDLE from Start Menu icon. Socket error: permission > denied. IDLE's subprocess didn't make connection. Either IDLE can't start a > subprocess or personal firewall software is blocking the connection. > > Trying to start IDLE from cmd line: > c:\Python25\python.exe c:\Python25\Lib\idlelib\idle.py (or > c:\Python25\pythonw.exe c:\Python25\Lib\idlelib\idle.pyw) > gets: > IDLE Subprocess: socket error: Permission denied, retrying.... > IDLE Subprocess: socket error: Permission denied, retrying.... > IDLE Subprocess: socket error: Permission denied, retrying.... > IDLE Subprocess: Connection to IDLE GUI failed, exiting. > > Traceback (most recent call last): > ** IDLE Internal Exception: > Traceback (most recent call last): > File "C:\Python25\lib\idlelib\run.py", line 82, in main > exit() > File "C:\Python25\lib\idlelib\run.py", line 208, in exit > del sys.exitfunc > AttributError: exitfunc > Traceback (most recent call last): > File "", line 1, in > File "C:\Python25\lib\idlelib\run.py", line 107, in main > exit() > File "C:\Python25\lib\idlelib\run.py", line 208, in exit > del sys.exitfunc > AttributeError: exitfunc > > Tried to run with firewall turned off. Same problem. Tried to run as Admin > of computer, same problem. > At cmd line, ping localhost gets 127.0.0.1 ok. Is problem Vista > permissions?, RPC (on Automatic) or RPC locator (set to Manual), firewall?, > typo in code? I see other people manage to use this downloaded package. > Kindly suggestions for frustrated newbie please. Thanks, Deb. > Hi Debbie! I don't think this is caused by your firewall. Please first try downloading and installing Python2.7 from the Python homepage: www.python.org. This also installs IDLE and is better tested. Post back and tell us if this works! - Tal Einat -------------- next part -------------- An HTML attachment was scrubbed... URL: From chaoslichen at gmail.com Tue Aug 3 05:54:55 2010 From: chaoslichen at gmail.com (Chas Leichner) Date: Mon, 2 Aug 2010 23:54:55 -0400 Subject: [Idle-dev] IDLE GSoC Extension In-Reply-To: References: Message-ID: I just wanted to check in again before going on to the next step for me in GSoC. I need to start polishing work on my code very soon--the firm pencils down date is in two weeks--and I would like some confirmation as to whether or not my project could be feature in the version of IDLE released with Python. If it could be, I would really appreciate some input about how to proceed. Otherwise, I appreciate all of the work you have contributed to IDLE and Python in general, I couldn't have done this project without it. Chas On Mon, Jul 26, 2010 at 11:47 PM, Chas Leichner wrote: > I posted on this list at the start of the summer about my Google > Summer of Code project. I've made a lot of progress and want to bring > it to the community for some feedback. For people who missed a > description, I am working on an extension to IDLE which will allow > tutorials to be more interactive. It works by accepting specially > annotated Python files which describe their own annotations. It then > generates a trace of the execution, along with annotations and > variables, storing it as a JSON file. I then made another type of > window for stepping through the traces like a debugger and displaying > the annotations at the appropriate lines. I have gotten to the point > where I have a working prototype for my project and would like to know > where the IDLE developers see it fitting in with IDLE. I don't know > if it would fit in better as a built in additional feature, an > optional extension, or somewhere in between. I would also appreciate > any advice on how to integrate it better with the current class > hierarchy (it is currently rather awkwardly grafted on) so I could get > user interface issues addressed as soon as possible. > > If you want to take a look at what I've done so far, this is my repo: > http://code.google.com/p/idlecarpentry/source/checkout. The .json > files in the examples directory will bring up a trace window directly > when you open them and the .py files will bring up the editor, as > usual. Traces can be run from the editor window by selecting Run > > Create Trace, annotations are pulled from any line starting with #> > and applied to the first line of Python code which follows. I would > love to hear any about any bugs you find or UI friction you encounter. > > I have been keeping a blog here http://cleichner.blogspot.com/, and > will be posting a screencast to it tomorrow. > > Thanks, > Chas > -------------- next part -------------- An HTML attachment was scrubbed... URL: From pribond at yahoo.com Wed Aug 4 14:36:09 2010 From: pribond at yahoo.com (pribond) Date: Wed, 4 Aug 2010 05:36:09 -0700 (PDT) Subject: [Idle-dev] idle's Alt+P command not working in Idle 2.6.5 (python 2.6.4 x64 on windowsXP) Message-ID: <29343924.post@talk.nabble.com> Hi, I found that my idle shell can not get the previous command using Alt+P, however I can get the next command by Alt+N. I am using Python 2.6.5 (r265:79096, Mar 19 2010, 18:02:59) [MSC v.1500 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32. (running on windowsXP Professional 64 bit ver 2003, service pack2 with Intel Xeon E5506 2.13GHz cpu.) Idle version is also 2.6.5. and >>> platform.architecture() ('64bit', 'WindowsPE') I also found that Idle 3.1.2 (with Python 3.1.2 (r312:79149, Mar 20 2010, 22:55:39) [MSC v.1500 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32) also has same problem. Any patches or help getting Alt-P key binding active again? Thanks in advance, -- View this message in context: http://old.nabble.com/idle%27s-Alt%2BP-command-not-working-in-Idle-2.6.5-%28python-2.6.4-x64-on-windowsXP%29-tp29343924p29343924.html Sent from the Python - idle-dev mailing list archive at Nabble.com. From tjreedy at udel.edu Thu Aug 5 20:57:07 2010 From: tjreedy at udel.edu (Terry Reedy) Date: Thu, 05 Aug 2010 14:57:07 -0400 Subject: [Idle-dev] IDLE GSoC Extension In-Reply-To: References: Message-ID: On 8/2/2010 11:54 PM, Chas Leichner wrote: > I just wanted to check in again before going on to the next step for me > in GSoC. I need to start polishing work on my code very soon--the firm > pencils down date is in two weeks--and I would like some confirmation as > to whether or not my project could be feature in the version of IDLE > released with Python. All I know about extensions is that there are some that that come with IDLE and are loaded by default and others that live on PyPI and have to be downloaded and configured. I suspect suspect yours will have to start as an option. To be included in the distribution, it would need the support of a developer and a promise of at least a few years of maintenance support from either you or the developer. > If you want to take a look at what I've done so far, this is my repo: > http://code.google.com/p/idlecarpentry/source/checkout. The .json > files in the examples directory will bring up a trace window directly > when you open them and the .py files will bring up the editor, as > usual. Traces can be run from the editor window by selecting Run > > Create Trace, annotations are pulled from any line starting with #> > and applied to the first line of Python code which follows. I would > love to hear any about any bugs you find or UI friction you encounter. > > I have been keeping a blog here http://cleichner.blogspot.com/, and > will be posting a screencast to it tomorrow. I support the idea of tutorial support but I cannot comment on the implementation now. -- Terry Jan Reedy From srisimhan at gmail.com Thu Aug 12 19:08:20 2010 From: srisimhan at gmail.com (Srikanth N) Date: Thu, 12 Aug 2010 22:38:20 +0530 Subject: [Idle-dev] Python CGI for windows Message-ID: Dear All, I Have certain clarification in python CGI. I use Python IDLE *1. How do we execute CGI Scripts in Windows? 2. How do i configure the Server?(If i use WAMP,XAMPP) 3. Is mod_python required for python cgi? * Someone Please revert back to me with the solution for the same.I would be at-most thankful -- Thanks & Regards, Srikanth.N -------------- next part -------------- An HTML attachment was scrubbed... URL: From tjreedy at udel.edu Thu Aug 12 21:14:57 2010 From: tjreedy at udel.edu (Terry Reedy) Date: Thu, 12 Aug 2010 15:14:57 -0400 Subject: [Idle-dev] Python CGI for windows In-Reply-To: References: Message-ID: On 8/12/2010 1:08 PM, Srikanth N wrote: > Dear All, > > I Have certain clarification in python CGI. > > I use Python IDLE > > *1. How do we execute CGI Scripts in Windows? > 2. How do i configure the Server?(If i use WAMP,XAMPP) > 3. Is mod_python required for python cgi? These questions have nothing to do with IDLE or any other editor you use to edit the program. I suggest you try either python-list or the web-sig list (not sure of the name). And no, I do not know the answers. -- Terry Jan Reedy From allan01123 at gmail.com Fri Aug 13 19:06:40 2010 From: allan01123 at gmail.com (Michael Allan) Date: Fri, 13 Aug 2010 13:06:40 -0400 Subject: [Idle-dev] idle py2.7 disappearing output Message-ID: I just installed 2.7, and also tried 3.1 with the same issue - any code more than one line will not show the output, it just instantly runs the code and goes back to a new (blank) prompt line. I am on winxp pro sp2. for example: print 52 + Enter will correctly print '52' then goto a new command prompt however: x=52 print 52 + Enter will just go right to the new command prompt, printing nothing. However if I add a iterative on the first line like this: for p in range(1): x=52 print x I can hit Enter (twice) and it will correctly show the output etc. I have googled all over and found a few references to python bugs (win32all updates etc) but all for older versions. I have been using that 'for' method to do all my assigments in the meantime. (by the way is there a way to get to a new line (CRLF) in the shell without actually running the code yet (hitting Enter)? (so to be able to put a new line of code into the shell directly instead of copy/paste from notepad all the time) -allan -------------- next part -------------- An HTML attachment was scrubbed... URL: From francois.oph at gmail.com Sat Aug 14 13:29:56 2010 From: francois.oph at gmail.com (FRANCOIS L.) Date: Sat, 14 Aug 2010 22:29:56 +1100 Subject: [Idle-dev] encodage problem Message-ID: <4C667E34.7080202@gmail.com> hello, ----- Python 2.6.5+ (release26-maint, Jul 6 2010, 12:58:20) [GCC 4.4.4] on linux2 IDLE 2.6.5 ==== No Subprocess ==== >>>import sys >>> u"?" u'\xc3\xa9' >>> print u"?" ?? >>> sys.stdin.encoding 'utf-8' ------ It seems to be a mixture of utf-8 and latin-1 In a terminal I got: Python 2.6.5+ (release26-maint, Jul 6 2010, 12:58:20) [GCC 4.4.4] on linux2 Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information. >>> import sys >>> sys.stdin.encoding 'UTF-8' >>> u"?" u'\xe9' >>> print u"?" ? Thanks for your help. Laurent debian squeeze From taleinat at gmail.com Sat Aug 14 23:59:48 2010 From: taleinat at gmail.com (Tal Einat) Date: Sun, 15 Aug 2010 00:59:48 +0300 Subject: [Idle-dev] IDLE GSoC Extension In-Reply-To: References: Message-ID: Hi Chas, I'm very sorry for not having been able to respond sooner! (my home computer died out ...) Your project sounds really! It sounds to me that you aren't just adding a feature to IDLE, but more making a new application based on IDLE. I'm not sure your project should be part of IDLE as distributed with Python, because it does something very different than what IDLE does. I also think that by trying to implement this as an extension you might unnecessarily limit yourself. IMO, to start with put it online somewhere that people can download and play around with and focus your efforts on getting it working and then getting attention to it and people using it. Later, if it catches on we can think about including this in some way with the Python distribution (either as part of IDLE or as a separate application). Good luck! - Tal Einat On Tue, Aug 3, 2010 at 6:54 AM, Chas Leichner wrote: > I just wanted to check in again before going on to the next step for me in > GSoC. I need to start polishing work on my code very soon--the firm pencils > down date is in two weeks--and I would like some confirmation as to whether > or not my project could be feature in the version of IDLE released with > Python. If it could be, I would really appreciate some input about how to > proceed. Otherwise, I appreciate all of the work you have contributed to > IDLE and Python in general, I couldn't have done this project without it. > Chas > > > On Mon, Jul 26, 2010 at 11:47 PM, Chas Leichner wrote: > >> I posted on this list at the start of the summer about my Google >> Summer of Code project. I've made a lot of progress and want to bring >> it to the community for some feedback. For people who missed a >> description, I am working on an extension to IDLE which will allow >> tutorials to be more interactive. It works by accepting specially >> annotated Python files which describe their own annotations. It then >> generates a trace of the execution, along with annotations and >> variables, storing it as a JSON file. I then made another type of >> window for stepping through the traces like a debugger and displaying >> the annotations at the appropriate lines. I have gotten to the point >> where I have a working prototype for my project and would like to know >> where the IDLE developers see it fitting in with IDLE. I don't know >> if it would fit in better as a built in additional feature, an >> optional extension, or somewhere in between. I would also appreciate >> any advice on how to integrate it better with the current class >> hierarchy (it is currently rather awkwardly grafted on) so I could get >> user interface issues addressed as soon as possible. >> >> If you want to take a look at what I've done so far, this is my repo: >> http://code.google.com/p/idlecarpentry/source/checkout. The .json >> files in the examples directory will bring up a trace window directly >> when you open them and the .py files will bring up the editor, as >> usual. Traces can be run from the editor window by selecting Run > >> Create Trace, annotations are pulled from any line starting with #> >> and applied to the first line of Python code which follows. I would >> love to hear any about any bugs you find or UI friction you encounter. >> >> I have been keeping a blog here http://cleichner.blogspot.com/, and >> will be posting a screencast to it tomorrow. >> >> Thanks, >> Chas >> > > > _______________________________________________ > IDLE-dev mailing list > IDLE-dev at python.org > http://mail.python.org/mailman/listinfo/idle-dev > > -------------- next part -------------- An HTML attachment was scrubbed... URL: From cben at users.sf.net Mon Aug 16 02:44:43 2010 From: cben at users.sf.net (Beni Cherniavsky-Paskin) Date: Sun, 15 Aug 2010 17:44:43 -0700 Subject: [Idle-dev] Rework when IDLE opens editor and/or shell windows In-Reply-To: References: <22770_1279735209_o6LI082J024324_AANLkTi=hV1fB6-oX4M0FDFzYcnVL0W5HiQs4kkUvZ1WC@mail.gmail.com> Message-ID: [Forgot to cc: the rest of the list.] On Wed, Jul 21, 2010 at 14:37, Beni Cherniavsky-Paskin wrote: > On Wed, Jul 21, 2010 at 23:09, Bruce Sherwood wrote: > >> Agreed. As I indicated earlier, I don't care what happens from a >> command line, since unskilled users of Python and IDLE are very >> unlikely to start from a command line, and power users should have >> full flexibility. >> >> Bruce Sherwood >> >> Note that this also affects the behaviour of dragging files to the > IDLE icon, and possibly right click ? Edit with IDLE. > Tal's proposal would change that from open-files-and-shell to > open-files only. > +1 (less distracting IMHO and a shell is always a menu/F5 away) > > > BTW, "Edit with IDLE" on windows opens IDLE in lame no-subshell mode. > I believe that is a vestige of IDLE using a single port. Can we please > drop it? > Currently I'm forced to tell students to avoid "Edit with IDLE" and always > do File?Open. > Turns out this was already fixed in 2.7 and 3.1 (issue5847). Better yet, would it be easy to arrange something like emacsclient: > if an IDLE is already running, ask it to open the files instead of > opening a new IDLE instance. > Sounds to me a lot of work to implement & debug. > Clever ideas anybody? > > Generally running more than one IDLE is a recipe for confusion. > - A tabbed interface would make this situation much clearer! > - Would adding numbers to the title - e.g. "IDLE (3)" - help? > These can be inferred from the port we manage to grab; > but we'll have to grab a port early even when not opening a shell. > -- Beni Cherniavsky-Paskin -------------- next part -------------- An HTML attachment was scrubbed... URL: From tjreedy at udel.edu Mon Aug 16 22:30:23 2010 From: tjreedy at udel.edu (Terry Reedy) Date: Mon, 16 Aug 2010 16:30:23 -0400 Subject: [Idle-dev] idle py2.7 disappearing output In-Reply-To: References: Message-ID: On 8/13/2010 1:06 PM, Michael Allan wrote: > I just installed 2.7, and also tried 3.1 with the same issue - any code > more than one line will not show the output, it just instantly runs the > code and goes back to a new (blank) prompt line. I am on winxp pro sp2. > for example: IDLE works fine on windows for most people. By enter, do you mean type on the keyboard or paste? Pasting only executes one statement. To paste multiple lines, either use the command window interpreter or an IDLE edit window (see below). > print 52 > + Enter will correctly print '52' then goto a new command prompt > however: > x=52 > print 52 > + Enter will just go right to the new command prompt, printing nothing. Copy and paste what you see like this >>> x = 52 >>> print(52) 52 >>> x = 52; print(52) 52 >>> > put a new line of code into the shell directly instead of copy/paste > from notepad all the time) Use IDLE's editor to edit code. Use F5 (Run) to run the code. Use Options/Configure/General to turn off save prompt if you prefer. PS I think this list is really for development of IDLE, not usage questions. The latter can just as well go to python-list and get quicker response. -- Terry Jan Reedy From tjreedy at udel.edu Mon Aug 16 22:33:03 2010 From: tjreedy at udel.edu (Terry Reedy) Date: Mon, 16 Aug 2010 16:33:03 -0400 Subject: [Idle-dev] encodage problem In-Reply-To: <4C667E34.7080202@gmail.com> References: <4C667E34.7080202@gmail.com> Message-ID: On 8/14/2010 7:29 AM, FRANCOIS L. wrote: > hello, > > ----- > Python 2.6.5+ (release26-maint, Jul 6 2010, 12:58:20) > [GCC 4.4.4] on linux2 > IDLE 2.6.5 ==== No Subprocess ==== > >>>import sys > >>> u"?" > u'\xc3\xa9' > >>> print u"?" > ?? > >>> sys.stdin.encoding > 'utf-8' > ------ > > It seems to be a mixture of utf-8 and latin-1 > > In a terminal I got: > > Python 2.6.5+ (release26-maint, Jul 6 2010, 12:58:20) > [GCC 4.4.4] on linux2 > Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information. > >>> import sys > >>> sys.stdin.encoding > 'UTF-8' > >>> u"?" > u'\xe9' > >>> print u"?" > ? > > Thanks for your help. I suggest you ask a question and direct it to python-list. I have no idea what you want. -- Terry Jan Reedy